background

Monday, January 13, 2014

The Sting of Defeat

So...I've been at this for a few days.  NOT LONG, right?  But I DO feel like I've been TRYING to pay attention to what goes in my mouth.  I've tried to do a decent job of tracking it.  I've TRIED to make good choices.  Shoot...I even gave up my glass of wine last night.  I've been hitting the gym without fail...every single day. AND I'm back to cardio...so I'm trying to log between three and four miles each day.   I'm SO tuned into my Fitbit and have WAY exceeded my 10,000 step goal each day since I've started wearing it again.  I have really been getting after this.  And I woke up feeling pretty skinny.  I was like...Oh Yeah!  I have GOT this!  And then...I got on the scale.  AND????

NADA!!!!!!!  That's right!  I have not lost the first pound.  Shoot.  I had not lost the first OUNCE.  Needless to say...it was more than a little disappointing.  But then...I quickly remembered that Mother Nature is here.  And JUST arrived at that.  So I'm bloated and fluffy.  And so...I forgave myself a teeny bit.  And decided to just kind of "hold that thought" and will weigh myself again in a few days to see where I REALLY am.

What have I been eating?  Well?  Today, so far, I have a 100 calorie english muffin topped with 2% cheese and smoked turkey.  For snack when I got home I had two pieces of beef jerky and an orange.  For lunch I had a zucchini spiraled with onions, tossed in parmesan cheese and some seasonings and a big bunch of kale...roasted in the oven.  I'm actually feeling pretty stuffed.  I'm doing great on my water.  I'm feeling pretty on track.  But when I look at my weight watchers screen, I see that I only have 5 of my original 26 points left for the day.  Ouch.  That's not a lot for dinner and snacks!  Thank goodness I exercised!!  That actually gives me an additional seven points.  I should be okay on those 12 points for the rest of the day, since dinner is shrimp based and pretty darned light.  Not to mention I have 49 untouched "weekly" points that I save for indulgences.  Not sure what I might indulge in...but I do know it won't be wine!  Got to lay off that stuff for a while.  I suspect that it is the reason my scale refuses to budge.  That...and when I really get to tracking my food I see just how easy it is to overindulge and get WAY off track!

Now you know what I am doing today.  How about you?

No comments :

Post a Comment